medic54 on January 26, 2012, 09:46:38 PM
Hi Guys! Im very new at this.. I really want to own a Vespa.. Why? Well just like any new guys reason, just to have the swagger of owning one.. I've been thinking of buying a motorcycle for leisure purposes, and frankly, big displacement bikes are on top of my list.. But when me and my fiancee saw a vespa when watching a movie once, we agreed that vespa is what we're looking for.. Classic, exclusive, elegant.. and its a vespa!! (Im sure you guys know what I mean)

Here comes the problem, I visited Scooter Depot just the other day, and instead of seeing vespa scooters, I saw Stella scooters.. I don't really know anything about stella, I started to think its really just a knockoff of the original vespa.. Did a couple of researches on the web, and honestly, from finally figuring out what to buy, i ended up getting confused.. Scooter Depot also sold all kinds of vespa badges.. Now I'm thinking of buying a Stella and rebadge it to Vespa (like I said, I dont know if Stella is a good brand here locally) Is that a good idea? Has anyone tried that?

One last thing.. If I buy a 2nd hand Vespa PX150, how will I know that its not a rebadged Stella? I really hope vespa gurus will enlighten me on this.. Thanks!!!

Daddy D on January 26, 2012, 10:00:52 PM
Welcome to Vespinoy!

Firstly, I don't think you can go wrong if you buy the 4-stroke Stella.  Of course, I am biased because I also have a Stella.  Now on the matter of rebadging it, I would not do it, but its really your own personal decision.  Some people have rebadged other scoots as Vespas.  Btw, I also have 2 Vespas.

If you have the chance to join the round-ups, am sure that the guys will be able to help you with your other questions.

doomzday on January 26, 2012, 10:07:15 PM
welcome to vespinoy medic54.