Ride. Rest. Repeat.

Vespinoys win CCP’s Thirteen Artists Award

Vespinoy! by Daniel Coquilla
Pinoy Vespa riders Daniel Coquilla and Eugene Jarque have been awarded the CCP’s Thirteen Artists Award.

This batch is deemed refreshing in that they are unfettered by the demands of the art market.

The CCP recently announced the awardees: Ronald Anading, Jeho Bitancor, Mariano Ching, Lena Cobangbang, Daniel Coquilla, Luisito Cordero, Lyra Abueg Garcellano, Eugene Jarque, Jayson Oliveria, Gary-Ross Pastrana, Yasmin Sison-Ching, Ma. Cristina Valdezco, and Jevijoe Vitug.

More about the Thirteen Artists Award

The Thirteen Artists Award is named in honor of the pioneering group of thirteen Modernists in Philippine art, namely: Victorio Edades, Galo B. Ocampo, Carlos “Botong” Francisco, Diosdado Lorenzo, Vicente Manansala Jr., Hernando R. Ocampo, Cesar T. Legaspi, Demetrio Diego, Bonifacio Cristobal, Jose Pardo, Arsenio Capili, Ricarte Purungganan, and Anita Magsaysay-Ho.

The Thirteen Artists Award began as a curatorial project of the CCP Museum under its first curator Roberto Chabet. It evolved to become a recognition of progressive, young artists who were chosen based on: a body of work characterized by artistic integrity; innovativeness and cogency of ideas; responsiveness to contemporary realities; and sustained artistic activity demonstrated in individual and collective exhibitions. The Award is now given every three years.

Daniel Coquilla, is known as Dansoy in the Vespinoy forums. He had contributed this design to the Vespinoy cause. I have yet to meet Eugene Jarque, but in behalf of everyone on the forum and on the road, congratulations to you two. Hindi lang pangVespa, pang Awards pa! w00t w00t!

More about the CCP’s Thriteen Artists Awards here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes